Keynote Speakers

Prof. Zhisheng Niu
IEEE Fellow
Tsinghua University, China

Zhisheng Niu graduated from Beijing Jiaotong University, China, in 1985, and got his M.E. and D.E. degrees from Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan, in 1989 and 1992, respectively. During 1992-94, he worked for Fujitsu Laboratories Ltd., Japan, and in 1994 joined with Tsinghua University, Beijing, China. His major research interests include queueing theory and traffic engineering, wireless communications and mobile Internet, and green communication and networks.

Dr. Niu has served IEICE as a council member in 2009-2010, and IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc) as Chair of Beijing Chapter (2000-2008), Director of Asia-Pacific Board (2008-2009), Director for Conference Publications (2010-2011), Chair of Emerging Technologies Committee (2014-2015), Director for Online Contents (2018-2019), and currently as Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Trans. Green Commun. & Networks (2020-2022). He received the Outstanding Young Researcher Award from Natural Science Foundation of China in 2009, Best Paper Awards from ComSoc Asia-Pacific Board in 2013 and from Journal of Communications and Information Networks (JCIN) in 2019, Distinguished Technical Achievement Recognition Award from IEEE Green Communications & Computing Committee in 2018, and Harold Sobol Award from ComSoc in 2019. He is distinguished lecturer for ComSoc (2012-2015) as well as Vehicular Technologies Society (2014-2018). He is a fellow of both IEEE and IEICE.

Prof. Arumugam Nallanathan
IEEE Fellow
Queen Mary University of London, UK

Arumugam Nallanathan is Professor of Wireless Communications and Head of the Communication Systems Research (CSR) group in the School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science at Queen Mary University of London since September 2017. He was with the Department of Informatics at King's College London from December 2007 to August 2017, where he was Professor of Wireless Communications from April 2013 to August 2017 and a Visiting Professor from September 2017. He was an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, National University of Singapore from August 2000 to December 2007.
His research interests include Artificial Intelligence for Wireless Systems, 5G and beyond Wireless Networks, Internet of Things (IoT) and Molecular Communications. He published nearly 500 technical papers (including more than 200 top IEEE journal papers) in scientific journals and international conferences. He is a co-recipient of the Best Paper Awards presented at the IEEE International Conference on Communications 2016 (ICC'2016), IEEE Global Communications Conference 2017 (GLOBECOM'2017) and IEEE Vehicular Technology Conference 2017 (VTC'2017). He is an Editor for IEEE Transactions on Communications and a Senior Editor for IEEE Wireless Communications Letters. He was an Editor for IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications (2006-2011), IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology (2006-2017) and IEEE Signal Processing Letters. He served as the Chair for the Signal Processing and Communication Electronics Technical Committee of IEEE Communications Society and Technical Program Chair and member of Technical Program Committees in numerous IEEE conferences. He received the IEEE Communications Society SPCE outstanding service award 2012 and IEEE Communications Society RCC outstanding service award 2014. He has been selected as a Web of Science (ISI) Highly Cited Researcher in 2016. He is an IEEE Fellow and IEEE Distinguished Lecturer.

Prof. Teng Joon Lim
IEEE Fellow
University of Sydney, Australia

Teng Joon (T. J.) Lim (S’92-M’95-SM’02-F’17) obtained the B.Eng. degree in Electrical Engineering with first-class honours from the National University of Singapore (NUS) in 1992, and the Ph.D. degree from the University of Cambridge in 1996. From September 1995 to November 2000, he was a researcher at the Centre for Wireless Communications in Singapore, one of the predecessors of the Institute for Infocomm Research (I2R). From December 2000 to May 2011, he was Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, then Professor at the University of Toronto’s Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Since June 2011, he has been a Professor at the Electrical & Computer Engineering Department of NUS, where he served as a Deputy Head from July 2014 to August 2015. From September 2015 through December 2019, he served as Vice-Dean (Graduate Programs) in the NUS Faculty of Engineering. Since January 2020, he has served as the Associate Dean (Education) at the Faculty of Engineering in the University of Sydney.

Professor Lim was an Area Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications from September 2013 to September 2018, and previously served as an Associate Editor for the same journal. He has also served as an Associate Editor for IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Wiley Transactions on Emerging Telecommunications Technologies (ETT), IEEE Signal Processing Letters and IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology. He has volunteered on the organizing committee of a number of IEEE conferences, including serving as the TPC co-chair of IEEE Globecom 2017. He chaired the Singapore chapter of the IEEE Communications Society in 2017 and 2018, and is a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society for 2019-20.

His research interests span many topics within wireless communications, including cyber-security in the Internet of Things, heterogeneous networks, cooperative transmission, energy-optimized communication networks, multi-carrier modulation, MIMO, cooperative diversity, cognitive radio, and stochastic geometry for wireless networks, and he has published widely in these areas.

Prof. Xiaofang Zhou
IEEE Fellow
The University of Queensland, Australia

Professor Xiaofang Zhou is a Professor of Computer Science at The University of Queensland. His research focus is to find effective and efficient solutions for managing, integrating and analyzing very large amount of complex data for business, scientific and personal applications. He has been working in the area of spatial and multimedia databases, data quality, high performance database systems, data mining, machine learning, streaming data analytics and recommendation systems. He is a Program Committee Chair for PVLDB 2020, SSTD 2017, CIKM 2016, ICDE 2013, and a General Chair of MDM 2018 and ACM Multimedia 2015. He has been an Associate Editor of The VLDB Journal, IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering, IEEE Transactions on Cloud Computing, World Wide Web Journal, Distributed and Parallel Databases, and IEEE Data Engineering Bulletin. He was the Chair of IEEE Technical Committee on Data Engineering (2015-2018), and a Fellow of IEEE.